Rain and low wind on Tallinn Bay did not allow any races to be held on the last day of the Estonian NeilPryde Baltic Cup, so the final results for Formulas, Formula Kites, Raceboards and Techno 293’s came down to the strong wind races of Friday, and for the Raceboards and Techno 293’s also the low wind races of Saturday.[more]

While the 102 surfers from Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Russia were hopeful and anticipating the last day of racing on Sunday, at 10am there was no wind but lots of rain. The surfers waited on shore for the wind to rise until 3pm but then the race management had to take the decision to cancel Sunday’s racing and start with the award ceremonies. The results count for the NeilPryde Baltic Cup series, and for Estonian surfers as part of Estonian Championships series. For Formulas, this regatta was also a European Cup event and for both Formulas and Formula Kites, a world ranking event.

In Formula, the winners were announced based on the 5 races of Friday, as the wind on Saturday was too low – under 4m/s. The gold was won by Formula class world ranking leader Janis Press from Latvia, who won all five races. The second place went to Estonian Erno Kaasik (12 points) and third place to Latvian Maris Birzulis (17 points). The best woman in Formula class was Estonian Marit Ruusak.

The winners of Formula Kite were similarly decided based on Friday’s races alone. The winner was Lithuanian Viktoras Seputa who won all five Friday’s races. The second and third places went to Estonians – respectively Ranno Rumm (8 points) and Madis Kallas (13 points).

Raceboards managed to race on two days. In conclusion of 8 races, Lithuanian Vytautas Celesius took the gold with 10 points, followed by Estonian Rainer Kasekivi (15 points) and Latvian Kristaps Keidans (17 points).

Techno 293 for under 17, two first places were won by Poles – based on 8 races, Bartosz Pawlowski came first (9 points), followed by Lidia Sulikowska (17 points). With equal points, Latvian Aleksandra Kaupa came third. For under 15, Polish Jakub Sykula won (41 points), followed by Latvian Annita Punte (78 points) and Polish Adam Zarnowski (92 points). For under 13, Latvians celebrated triple victory: Matiss Punte (15 points), Jekabs Ceze (18 points) and Valters Videnieks (21 points).

Estonian NeilPryde Baltic Cup is organized by Team Extreme in cooperation with Estonian Windsurfing Association, Estonian Kiteboarding Association and Estonian Yachting Union. NeilPryde Baltic Cup series will finish on July 24-26 in Liepaja, Latvia.

Estonian NeilPryde Baltic Cup is sponsored by Tarcona, Extreme Sport, Oxbow, NeilPryde and Tahtreklaam. Estonian Yachting Union is sponsored by Vopak E.O.S., Liviko, Tallinna Sadam, Marinepool, NG Investeeringud, LTT, Matek and Planestar.

Photo credit photogpraher: Peeter Joers

Regatta homepage: http://event.extreme.ee/

Results: http://event.extreme.ee/index.php?id=2015_results

Photo gallery: http://event.extreme.ee/index.php?id=picture_gallerys