Time goes very fast when you realise that this was the 15th Neil Pryde Baltic Cup that just finished in Liepaja, Latvia. Fifteen years ago, the organizers created an idea to invite all Baltic windsurfers – from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania – to join a new series of events.[more] One event per country, with overall scoring at the end, giving the opportunity for windsurfers to race together, to socialise and make new friends between our countries.

Today, we can acknowledge that, since the very beginning, the idea is working very well! From a single discipline Formula event, the event has grown to a multi discipline Euro Cup event, attracting all ages and class of windsurfers, not only from Baltic countries, but from across the globe. The racing series in the Baltics has become one of biggest windsurfing events worldwide today.

104 competitors took part in the final 2013 event in Liepaja, Latvia: 60 in Formula, 20 in Bic Techno, 12 in Raceboard and 12, for the first time, in kiteboard racing!

Conditions over three days in Liepaja, started with up to 2 meter waves with strong current from South which made sailing conditions great, but also more challenging for all racers. The average wind was from 11 to 20 knots, depending on the race. The wind was also shifty.

In the Raceboard class, the races were won by a lady, 2 times Olympian Vita Matise. Second place went to Gunars Rozenbergs from Latvia and third to Aldis Surins from Latvia.

The Baltic Cup 2013 overall winners were also decided here in Liepaja. All races from the three events were used in the series overall ranking.

In conclusion, I want to thank all the Baltic Cup event organizers: Robertas Gradauskas and Darius Mikelonis from Lithuania; Erno Kaasik from Estonia; and Juris Vasioleks from Latvia. They have been supporting and organizing the events in the Baltics for the last 15 years. Thanks also to the Neil Pryde company, supporting the event series since the very beginning. Many thanks for Latvia event crew Janis Jekabsons, beautiful girls Madara and Agita, Arnis, Juris, Ringolds and Maiks.

Thanks to all participants for coming and taking part in all Baltic Cup events this year and see you next year!

Ansis Dale

Event Results for Raceboard / Overall Baltic Cup Series Results for Raceboard